Sun Ra and His Arkestra Discipline 27-II


Strut and Art Yard present a special release for Record Store Day 2017, the first ever official reissue of Sun Ra’s revered Discipline 27-II LP from 1972.

The recordings for the album took place on the 19th and 20th of October, 1972 at Streeterville Studios, Chicago, with the largest Arkestra line-up Sun Ra had yet taken into a studio session. The date was produced by Impulse! and Riverside veteran Ed Michel and, for the first time, the Arkestra was recorded in quadraphonic sound. Recordings from the same sessions would yield the legendary Space Is the Place LP. This first official reissue of Discipline 27-II was prepared in conjunction with Art Yard and Sun Ra LLC.

Side A
A1: Pan Afro /8:02
A2: Discipline 8 /7:56
A3: Neptune /5:47
Side B
B1: Discipline 27-II /24:29


Sun Ra: Keyboards [Electronic Keyboard Space Age Instruments], Synthesizer [Moog], Vocals [Vocal Dramatizing]
John Gilmore: Tenor Saxophone, Percussion, Vocals
Marshall Allen: Alto Saxophone,
Danny Davis: Flute
Pat Patrick: Baritone Saxophone, Bass
Danny Ray Thompson: Baritone Saxophone, Flute
Eloe Omoe: Bass Clarinet, Flute
Akh Tal Ebah: Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Vocals
Lamont Kwamie Mc Clamb: Trumpet, Percussion
Alzo Wright: Drums
Harry Richards: Drums
Lex Humphries: Drums
Robert Underwood: Drums
Russell Branch: Percussion, Congas
Stanley Morgan: Percussion, Congas
Cheryl Banks: Vocals [Space Ethnic Voices]
Judith Holton: Vocals [Space Ethnic Voices]
June Tyson: Vocals [Space Ethnic Voices]
Ruth WrightVocals [Space Ethnic Voices]

Composed By, Arranged By – Sun Ra / Producer – Alton Abraham, Infinity Inc.
Artwork By [Cover Art] – LeRoy Butler
Notes : Discipline Series. From Secrets Of The Sun, Volume II.

Fully remastered. Features complete original artwork and liner notes by Francis Gooding”

Digital Audio Download links:

ITunes Apple: Sun Ra and His Arkestra Discipline 27-II

Apple Co: Sun Ra and His Arkestra Discipline 27-II

Amazon: Sun Ra and His Arkestra Discipline 27-II

STRUT146LP, Art Yard ‎– STRUT

Release co-ordination by Quinton Scott and Peter Dennett

Special Thanks to Sun Ra, John Gilmore, June Tyson, Charles Davis, Marshall Allen, Pat Patrick, Michael Ray, Danny Ray Thompson, Knoel Scott, Elson Nascimento and The Sun Ra Alter Destiny 21st Century Epic Myth Science Cosmic Dream Arkestra band members, Thomas Jenkins Jr (Managing Director, Sun Ra LLC), Michael D. Anderson (Sun Ra Music Archives), Irwin Chusid (administrator, Sun Ra LLC), Quinton Scott at Strut, John Corbett at Corbett vs. Dempsey, Chris Trent, Robert Campbell, Hartmut Geerken, Paul Griffiths, Lewis Heriz, Duncan Brooker, Gilles Peterson, Chris Trent, Hartmut Geerken, Cornelia Mueller, Val Wilmer, Francis Gooding, Siofra McComb, Edwin Pouncey, Jill Tipping, John Sinclair, Leni Sinclair, Rick Steiger, Carey Hamblett.

Compositions and Arrangements by Sun Ra Published by Enterplanetary Koncepts BMI.
All Rights Reserved 2017 © Sun Ra LLC.
Strut is part of the !K7 label group

You Can Follow Art Yard on Face Book – FB and listen to some audio previews on – Soundcloud.

More from Strut Records: /

More from The Sun Ra Arkestra: